My journey through sleep deprivation to Polyphasic Sleep
  • As I indicated in my first post over in the "practical methods" forum (in some ways the descriptions and context of each might hint that it might be better to merge both into one forum), I have been exploring (for about 4 months now) Polyphasic Sleep, a journey in significant part influenced by having read Left in the Dark.

I have found that many may have heard of Polyphasic Sleep, some may even have tried it (many tend to fail), but in general may not know about many of the details outside of the "sleep less" angle (which I feel is more of a byproduct than an aim).

Many of us likely adhere to the standard "Monophasic" Sleep pattern, which is just sleeping once per day, in one big chunk. This activity consumes varying amounts of time, typically ranging from 6-8.5 hours for "normal" individuals. Aside from the near constant time consumed, it generally is the most FLEXIBLE sleep schedule (ie one can abuse it endlessly with late partying one night, getting up early the next day, etc. provided sleep deprivation isn't reached).

A common alteration of this is "Biphasic" sleep, where one sleeps in a significant chunk at night, and then has some sort of afternoon sleep (20 min-1.5 hours); many cultures call this a "Siesta".

Some science has unveiled that, prior to the industrial revolution, we naturally exhibited a different sleeping pattern- what has been termed as "Segmented" sleep, where the nightly core sleep is broken up into two parts, with a period of wakefulness in between.

What gets interesting is when one starts tinkering with these units of "core" sleep (in current context, any sleep > 45 minutes) and "naps" (15-45 minutes, but typically uniform in length to the practitioner-- seems different people have different ideal nap lengths), while paying attention to normal body rhythms (circadian, ultradian, BRAC).